Russia put Macedonia on a list of unfriendly countries, that will allow it to impose economic sanctions against them. The list includes about two dozen countries, and the whole of the EU. It has Ukraine, the US, Montenegro, Switzerland, Japan, Australia, Canada..

According to Russian media, this will allow Russian entities to pay companies from these countries in rubles instead of harder currency. Future contracts with companies or individuals from these countries, such as purchases of real-estate in Russia, will be subject to special approval.